Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


  • Appliances Repair in MD

    1. Here’s my story : My housemate found me a free stove (thanks Rebekah!) that we hauled 13 blocks to our house. We’re renters and the stove that came with the house pre-dates the Industrial Revolution. It’s older than Jesus. It’s kind of embarrassing and one of those things that I always wanted to upgrade but as a renter didn’t make much sense to invest a lot of money in.

    Appliances Repair in MD
    I called around for quotes to install and anybrandrepair wasn’t the cheapest, but they definitely had their act together and quoted me exactly what they would do (haul in new stove, install, and haul out old stove) and would not do (dispose of old stove, which is fine. Sunset Scavenger owes me one so it’s not an issue.) Anybrandrepair came off as far more professional than some of the other somewhat shady people that I spoke to so I went with them. I called on a Thursday and was able to set up an appointment on a Saturday.
    Appliances Repair in MD
    Flavio was on time and went above and beyond the call of duty, even getting on his knees and scrubbing the floor under the old stove (and the floor was not very pretty down there) but here’s what really amazed me.
    Appliances Repair in MD
    The stove was missing 3 knobs so I had gone to Home Depot the day before to pick up some generic replacement parts. Flavio looked at what I got and was all “How much did you pay for those?”

    “About $18” I responded.
    Appliances Repair in MD
    “That’s crap. You should return it and get your money back. I have much better ones in my car.”

    So AFTER the work is done and AFTER I pay the man we go out to his car and he pulls out this plastic container filled with hundreds of stove knobs and he spends 20 minutes searching through for a match while we talk about politics and socialized medicine. When we find the three I ask him how much he wants and he’s all “I don’t need any more money. They’re yours.”
    Appliances Repair in MD
    Wow. So not only did he set me up with 3 far superior knobs but he also just saved me almost $20.

    And on a side note, one of the stories Flavio was telling me was how he cut off part of his thumb in a work related accident a year ago. It’s one of those things that I think we take for granted, that there will always be neat shiny new toys for us to buy and people to come and fix those toys when they break down. I have a nice job.
    Appliances Repair in MD
    I get paid pretty well to sit on my ass in front of a computer 8 hours a day and I don’t have to worry about losing a body part and several thousand dollars in hospital bills while doing Data Entry… but that is the price that some people pay to make a living. Flavio was saying that the most painful thing (outside of the $6,000 + bill, and that’s WITH Medical Insurance. Thanks for nothing) was the nurse who tried for 10 minutes to give him an IV and just butchered his arm.
    Appliances Repair in MD
    I was laughing and was all “You should go write a bad review of that nurse on yelp.” And Flavio was all “Yeah, they like me on yelp. I get a lot of 5 stars and a lot of work from that site.”

    Here’s another 5 star review for you, Sir.
    Appliances Repair in MD
    Keep up the good work.

    Appliances Repair in MD