Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


  • Appliances Repair in DC

    1. Sometimes when “Hoarders” is on TV, I call my brother so we can freak out together. Our childhood home bore some resemblance to what you see on these shows. Instead of a swing set or a pool out back,

    Appliances Repair in DC

    we had a rambling furniture graveyard, a pile of rusty bikes, some pot plants, a gutted VW bus… Mom didn’t poop in a corner or anything (did you see that one???), but we had a lot of junk.

    Appliances Repair in DC

    Sadly, my brother and I have the gene: we both get sentimentally attached to items, even broken ones. Which may explain why I’ve had a lamp with a hot electric cord and a busted industrial fan for upwards of 10 years now. I couldn’t let them go, but I was hamstrung about how to fix them. Or who could do it.
    Appliances Repair in DC
    And then one day, I found the inspiration to search for “lamp repair” on Yelp. And there was Universal Electric, with nothing but glowing 5-star reviews. And everything changed.
    Appliances Repair in DC
    Son the repairman/owner is talented, thorough, thoughtful… and just a super nice guy. I mentioned to him that I found his business on Yelp, and he told me that all the great reviews here have really helped increase his business, which he’s had since the 70’s. I love when that happens.
    Appliances Repair in DC
    So maybe I will still have too much stuff and maybe I am still too attached to most of it. But now at least it’s all going to WORK.

    Appliances Repair in DC